Saskatoon (a name derived from the Cree inanimate noun misâskwatômina, “Saskatoon berries”, which refers to the sweet, violet-coloured berries that grow in the area) is the largest city in the province of Saskatchewan (kisiskâciwan). It’s located on Treaty 6 Territory and the Traditional Homelands of the Métis, and the area has been inhabited by First Nations people for at least 8,000 years. Saskatoon’s metropolitan area has a population approximately 300,000, and 10.5% identify as Indigenous. Approximately 16.3% of Saskatchewan’s population identifies as Indigenous; they include First Nations people from the Cree, Dakota, Dene (Chipewyan), Nakota (Assniboine) and Saulteaux nations, and Métis, whose ancestors were First Nations and European (primarily French), whose own distinct language and culture emerged during the fur trade in Canada in the 17th century.